"Tuggeranong Community Council - Working with our community"
Tuggeranong Community Council Community Service Awards for Tuggeranong Schools    

Tuggeranong Community Council Community Service Awards for Tuggeranong Schools    

The Tuggeranong Community Council (TCC) acts as the conduit between government and the community and vice versa by actively representing residents and the interests of the broader community within the Tuggeranong Valley.  TCC members believe it is beneficial for schools and students to collaborate with the broader community to enrich student education and, to provide opportunities for young people to: voice their ideas and areas of concern; see their feedback is valued; and see how they can influence future approaches.

To improve opportunities for collaboration, the TCC:

  • established the Tuggeranong Community Council Youth Engagement Sub Committee – which aims to provide a platform for Tuggeranong students from Year 9 to University to inform the TCCs approach to the issues of concern to young people;
  • organised various Youth Engagement Forums, with students from all Tuggeranong High Schools and Colleges invited to provide feedback across a range of topics and discuss their ideas on areas for change;
  • conducted youth engagement surveys;
    • feedback from the surveys and forums has been provided to relevant ACT Government Directorates for consideration.
  • instigated the Tuggeranong Community Council “Community Service Award” to all high schools and colleges in Tuggeranong

The TCC Community Service Award aims to recognise students who work beyond their school environment and support the community in many ways.  Unfortunately, due to the impact of Covid-19 restrictions during 2020, students were less involved in community service activities than usual. However, most schools in the region were able to acknowledge student endeavour.

The winners of the Tuggeranong Community Council Community Service Awards for 2020 are:

School Winners
Erindale College Naquesha Porotschnig
Lake Tuggeranong College Reanna Pulsford
St Mary MacKillop College (Award presentation scheduled for 2021 Honours Assembly)
Trinity Christian School Georgie D’elboux
Calwell High School Thomas Griffith
Caroline Chisholm High School Chelsea Lemon
Namadgi School Zoe Stott


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *