"Tuggeranong Community Council - Working with our community"
TCC celebrates 30 years working for the community

TCC celebrates 30 years working for the community

(L to R) The TCC's longest serving President, Rosemary Lissimore, newly elected President, Eric Traise and recent past president, Nick Tsoulias at the TCC's recent 30th Birthday celebrations.
(L to R) The TCC’s longest serving President, Rosemary Lisimore, newly elected President, Eric Traise and recent past president, Nick Tsoulias at the TCC’s 30th Birthday celebrations. Visit the TCC’s Photo Album

The Tuggeranong Community Council (TCC) is celebrating 30-years as the peak representative body of residents living in the Tuggeranong Valley. Over the last three decades there has been significant growth and change in the Valley with the TCC at the forefront contributing to physical and social planning and development and ensuring the views, aspirations and interests of residents are fully represented. The TCC has campaigned for new and enhanced services, a cleaner environment, improved public transport, more jobs and good planning and development. The TCC has effectively carried its messages on behalf of residents to the ACT Legislative Assembly through regular meetings with the Chief Minister and local members. It has also lobbied on behalf of Tuggeranong residents in the Federal Parliament through meetings with Federal Ministers and local Members and Senators. The TCC structure, and that of other Community Councils in the ACT, is based on a similar system operating in Scotland. It’s not a local government as such, as operates in other Australian jurisdictions, but an organisation made up of volunteers and elected officers drawn from the Tuggeranong community. The TCC has two sub-committees that deal with planning, environment, transport and social services issues before they are considered at general meetings. The TCC also invites representatives of other community organisations and groups to join its ranks so that a broad cross section of views are represented and considered. Some members also represent the TCC in other community forums. The TCC has its roots in the South Tuggeranong Progress Association and a Residents’ Association in Kambah. Both organisations were active during the early years of residential development in the Tuggeranong Valley. In September 1983 the then local member for Canberra, Ros Kelly, convened a public meeting to highlight the rapidly developing new suburbs in South Canberra and the growing needs of its young residents. At that time the population had reached 36,500 and was envisaged to grow to 60,000. Concerns were raised in the Valley over little infrastructure, few jobs and a lack of services that existed at the time. The Tuggeranong Town Centre did not exist and it was obvious the Erindale group centre could not meet the needs of a growing population. From that meeting, the TCC was formed. Mr Jim Madden, a serving Army Officer and President of the South Tuggeranong Progress Association, was elected the inaugural Chairman of the TCC. He was later awarded the Order of Australia for his work in the Tuggeranong community and on the Council. The fledgling TCC expressed concerns over the lack of a strategic plan for the Valley and began to work closely with the National Capital Development Commission (NCDC). It was represented at regular meetings on the planning and development of the Tuggeranong Town Centre. It lobbied for more and frequent bus services to serve the new and expanding suburbs. In February 1986, then TCC Chairman, David Read, wrote to The Canberra Times highlighting the lack of bus services to Isabella Plains and Oxley. By June of that year interim buses were running to Oxley and planned for Isabella Plains. The NCDC also recognised the need for a bus interchange in the new Town Centre. The new TCC also championed the protection of our historic homes and properties that were gradually being crowded out by the expansion of residential development. The Tuggeranong Homestead is a prime example, now surrounded by the suburbs of Isabella Plains, Chisholm and Calwell. The homestead is of national significance in that it is the location where Charles Bean wrote his history of the First World War. Even today the TCC maintains a close watch on this and other heritage sites in the Valley. The TCC has also worked with governments and government departments in the development of recreation areas in the Valley, including Lake Tuggeranong and new roads, schools and employment generation. The TCC was also successful in securing national recognition for the Valley in the awarding of two separate Tidy Town honours. More recently the TCC helped to make Canberra’s roads safer by successfully pushing for the introduction of random roadside drug testing, it has helped to raise awareness of air pollution in the Valley and its impact on health and water quality in Lake Tuggeranong. Meanwhile the TCC continues to monitor and provide input to new plans and projects. Among others they include the Tuggeranong and Erindale Master Plans, the South Quay Development, a new Southern Cemetery and proposals for a residential development at Tralee. The TCC is working with environmental groups in the clean up of Lake Tuggeranong, it supports East Greenway residents seeking improvements to footpaths, lighting, traffic safety and transport links and it is working with the ACT Government to expand tertiary education facilities in Tuggeranong. Today, the TCC is recognised as a strong and effective apolitical community based and representative organisation. Its regular forums are attended by local politicians, members of the business community and residents from across the Valley. They bring with them a wealth of knowledge and expertise that helps to shape debate and guide community leaders in setting the future direction of Tuggeranong. The TCC meets on the first Tuesday of each month (except January) in the upstairs formal dining room at Southern Cross Club in Greenway. Meetings commence at 7.30pm. New members and guests are welcome. 

TCC Chairperson/President

1983 to 1986 – Jim Madden

1986 to 1988 – David Read

1988 to 1989 – Norm Jensen

1989 to 1991 – Neil Sorenson

1991 to 2009 – Rosemary Lisimore

2009 to 2012 – Darryl Johnston

2012 to 2013 – Nick Tsoulias

2013 to present – Eric Traise

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *